Leah DeCesare

Book Review: I’ll Be Your Blue Sky by Marisa de los Santos

Book Review: I’ll Be Your Blue Sky by Marisa de los Santos

I'll Be Your Blue Sky | leahdecesare.com
I can’t quite begin to share how much I love I’ll Be Your Blue Sky. I couldn’t put it down and I didn’t want it to end. Marisa de los Santos is one of my favorite writers, she never disappoints and in I’ll Be Your Blue Sky, she delivers again. Not only is her prose enviable, but the story is riveting, heartwarming and charmingly funny in all the right ways. I’m still smiling recalling the experience of it.

I’ll Be Your Blue Sky solidly stands alone but, for those who have read her previous bestsellers, revisits beloved characters from Love Walked In and Belong to MeI so enjoyed seeing more of Clare and Dev and their comfortable, witty banter, their easy togetherness and I can, without reservation, recommend all of these books. I’m a bit jealous of those who haven’t read them yet for the joy you have waiting.

Once again, Marisa de los Santos masterfully crafts beautiful, sensual and just-right images that you can feel and touch and savor and turn over in your mind. They pull me into them so I feel the texture and nuance of something ordinary turned remarkable. She makes me see things in a completely new way while I nod with familiarity wondering how I’d never seen that in just that way before.

Don’t read the description (below if you must), don’t worry what it’s about – just grab yourself a copy and devour.

Congratulations, Marisa, on another winning story. I’m so grateful to have been able to read I’ll Be Your Blue Sky early (thank you, TLC Book Tours). You make me push myself even harder to be a better writer. Is it too stalkish to say I want to be like you? 🙂 

About I’ll Be Your Blue Sky

The New York Times bestselling author revisits the characters from her beloved novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in this captivating, beautifully written drama involving family, friendship, secrets, sacrifice, courage, and true love for fans of Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer.

On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charming yet overly possessive fiance.

Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has died and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph.

Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary woman and Blue Sky House no ordinary place. With the help of her mother, Viviana, her surrogate mother, Cornelia Brown, and her former boyfriend and best friend, Dev Tremain, Clare begins to piece together the story of Blue Sky House a decades-old mystery more complex and tangled than she could have imagined. As she peels back the layers of Edith’s life, Clare discovers a story of dark secrets, passionate love, heartbreaking sacrifice, and incredible courage. She also makes startling discoveries about herself: where she’s come from, where she’s going, and what and who she loves.

Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare,I’ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los Santos – an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.

 

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Photo by Tisa Della-Volpe

About Marisa de los Santos

New York Times bestselling author and award-winning poet with a PhD in literature and creative writing, Marisa de los Santos lives in Wilmington, Delaware, with her family.

Connect with Marisa on Facebook and Twitter.

TLC Book Tours | leahdecesare.com

One Comment so far:

Leave a Reply